Skip To Content

Educators Awarded for Excellence in Teaching 2023

Posted on 03/02/2023

Twenty-one Springfield Public Schools educators have been selected to receive the 2023 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award. The annual awards program honors outstanding Western Massachusetts educators and seeks to motivate teachers at all stages of their careers. Please join Springfield Public Schools in congratulating:



Dr. Dana Gronbeck  

High School of Science and Technology  

Jacquelyn DeCosmo   

Gerena Community School   

Garth Bariffe  

John J. Duggan Academy  

Melissa Rosenberg   

The Springfield Renaissance School   

Rachel Riley  

Lincoln Elementary School  

Kelly Flahive  

Beal Elementary School  

Margaret Blais  

John J. Duggan Academy  

Vianni Gomez  

John J. Duggan Academy  

Paisley Krach  

Van Sickle Academy  

Kerry Cesan  

Walsh Elementary School  

Mindy Rosengarten  

Springfield Conservatory of the Arts  

Sarah Haluch  

Elias Brookings School  

Brianna Rivers  

Kiley Prep Middle School  

Leahnora Anderson  

Roger L. Putnam Technical Vocational Academy  

Alec Archambault  

Springfield Central High School   

Allison Stoddard   

The Springfield Renaissance School  

Kathy Chamberlain  

White Street School  

Phebee Allsop  

M. Marcus Kiley Prep Middle School  

Joshua McGowan  

Springfield Central High School  

Desiree Eickel   

Milton Bradley Elementary School  

New Teacher Award 


Monica Koslowski  

Homer Street School   

“I am pleased to congratulate the winners of the Springfield Public Schools Class of 2023 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award. These educators represent what makes our school district so special,” said Superintendent of Schools Daniel Warwick, who personally congratulated the winners during a zoom meeting today.


Winners will be honored at an awards banquet at the Log Cabin in Holyoke on May 10, 2023. Prizes include an engraved plaque and $250. The awardees are also offered tuition incentives and scholarships from Elms College, Bay Path University, Mount Holyoke College, Springfield College, Western New England University, Westfield State University, and the University of Massachusetts. In addition, they are granted access to thousands of WGBY digital education resources as organization members and are given three-month memberships at the Springfield Jewish Community Center or one of the six regional YMCAs.


Now in its’ 20th year, the Excellence in Teaching Awards program is made possible by the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation and the Irene E. & George A. Davis Foundation. Other business and community support comes from American International College, Arrha Credit Union, Country Bank, and Meyers Brothers Kalicka, according to the organization.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.