Skip To Content

Teachers Awarded for Excellence

Teachers Awarded for Excellence
Posted on 03/11/2019
Twenty-seven SPS educators have been selected to receive the 2019 Excellence in Teaching Award. Superintendent Daniel J. Warwick honored the recipients today during surprise visits to each school. (Click here to see photos)

School officials will recognize the recipients during a regularly scheduled School Committee meeting on Thursday, May 2nd at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall. 

The Excellence in Teaching Awards acknowledges educators’ high degree of professionalism, subject knowledge, effectiveness, creativity, student impact, and support for colleagues. These educators will also be recognized at a celebration banquet at The Log Cabin Restaurant in Holyoke on Thursday, May 9, 2019. 

2019 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awardees

Lynde Blanton, Brookings 
Stacie Bolan, Kiley 
Justin Braica, Kiley 
Nicholas Campbell, Chestnut TAG 
Christie Chisholm, Central 
Jacqueline Costa, Warner 
Alycia Dehaas, Balliet Elementary 
Anne Dillard, Putnam 
Robert Douglas, Kensington 
Nicole Forys, STEM 
Melissa Gall, Central 
Karen Johnson, Kiley 
Maureen Keating, ECOS 
Elizabeth Kineavy, Gerena 
Patricia Lamagdeleine. Brookings 
Sandra Lambert, Sci Tech 
Lynanne Lamothe, Lincoln 
Virna Campbell-Langford, Lincoln 
Timothy Linnehan, Kiley 
Lea McGarvey, Van Sickle 
Nadia Muusse, Chestnut TAG 
Dennis Nelson, Glickman 
Jennifer O'Brien, Indian Orchard Elementary 
Desiree Robinson, Indian Orchard Elementary 
Justin Rodzen, Kiley 
Norene Shea, Dryden 
Elizabeth Footit, Renaissance- New Teacher Award 

At the Excellence in Teaching Awards banquet, individual winners will receive an engraved plaque and a check for $500, along with tuition incentives towards higher education courses at six area colleges and universities; membership at WGBY, the local YMCAs of the Pioneer Valley, and the Springfield Jewish Community Center; among other gifts.  Winners will also be challenged to submit a project-based learning idea for an additional $250 Classroom Innovator Prize. Up to 20 superior submissions will be selected for this prize. 

Presented annually since 2003, the Excellence in Teaching Awards Program has recognized more than 1,500 outstanding teachers in Hampden, Hampshire, and Franklin Counties for their impact on students, colleagues, and schools. This awards program is made possible by the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation in partnership with the Irene E. & George A. Davis Foundation, and MassMutual Life Insurance Company. 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.